Overhead of the Swiss National Science Foundation

The Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) reimburses universities for the indirect costs they incur through SNSF projects (overhead contribution).

The University of Zurich receives an annual overhead contribution from the SNSF in the amount of approx. 15% of the research funds that researchers at the UZH acquired from the SNSF in the previous year. The percentage is variable, as it is based on the federal funds available annually.

The overhead is calculated on the basis of the projects awarded in the previous year (January 1 to December 31). The date of the ruling is decisive. Only grants within the framework of the funding instruments defined by the SNSF will be considered. A list of these funding instruments can be found in the annex to the SNSF overhead regulations.

 

Regulation for the distribution of the SNSF overhead

The University of Zurich has standardized the distribution of overheads from research funding programs, in particular those of the SNSF and the EU. The overhead income from research projects is divided as follows:

10% goes to the project leaders and 20% each to the respective institutes and faculties. The remaining 50% remain centrally at the UZH and are used for the entire university.

Further information and an information sheet can be found on the website of the Grants Management.

For further information, please contact the Service Desk Finance.

Overhead des Schweizerischen Nationalfonds

Der Schweizerische Nationalfonds (SNF) erstattet den Hochschulen einen Beitrag an die Deckung von indirekten Kosten, welche ihnen durch SNF-Projekte entstehen (Overheadbeitrag).

Die Universität Zürich erhält vom SNF jährlich einen Overheadbeitrag in der Höhe von ca. 15% der Forschungsmittel, die Forschende der UZH im Vorjahr beim SNF eingeworben haben. Der Prozentsatz ist variabel, da er sich nach den jährlich zur Verfügung stehenden Bundesmitteln richtet.

Grundlage für die Berechnung des Overheads sind die Projekte, die im Vorjahr (1. Januar bis 31. Dezember) zugesprochen wurden. Massgebend ist das Datum der Verfügung. Es werden nur Zusprachen im Rahmen der vom SNF festgelegten Förderungsinstrumente berücksichtigt. Eine Liste dieser Förderungsinstrumente findet sich im Anhang des Overheadreglements des SNF.

 

Regelung zur Verteilung des SNF-Overheads

Die Universität Zürich hat die Verteilung des Overheads aus Forschungsförderungs-programmen, insbesondere des SNF und der EU, vereinheitlicht. Die Overheadeinnahmen aus Forschungsprojekten werden wie folgt aufgeteilt:

10% gehen an die Projektleitenden und je 20% an die entsprechenden Institute und Fakultäten. Die übrigen 50% bleiben zentral an der UZH und werden für die gesamte Universität eingesetzt.

Weiterführende Informationen und ein Merkblatt finden Sie auf der Webseite des Drittmittelmanagements.

Für Auskünfte wenden Sie sich bitte an den Service Desk Finanzen